From Mechanical Engineering To Software Engineering: Why I Transitioned Into Tech

From Mechanical Engineering To Software Engineering: Why I Transitioned Into Tech

It is no longer a fairytale that the world is gradually evolving into a digital market. The advent of ICT and digital tech is changing, and will keep influencing how mankind interact with one another in all facets.

Growing up, I always fantasized about computers. This made me preferred Computer Science, as a school subject, above the rest. The little periods I spent in the school's computer laboratory were one of the sweetest memories I held on to. There was never a boring moment whenever it was time for practicals.

The little boy in me grew up at some point in time, but the attraction for computers never faded. However, I ended up settling for Mechanical Engineering as a university undergraduate. I wanted to study something different from Computer Science or Engineering. A decision I regret till this very moment — a story for another day.

Over the last six years, I had ventured into varieties of fields which include Content Writing, SEO, Blogging, Freelancing, WordPress Design, etc. Although, engaging in these activities were rewarding, my sense of purpose wasn't yet satisfied. I had this innate feeling that I'm yet to align with my bearing or let me say purpose.

Fully aware that tech and ICT rented the most part of my head, I still couldn't figure out my "what" and "how." In a bid to satisfy the empty feeling, I downloaded the SoloLearn app sometime in 2020 and started learning Python, all by myself with the app. I completed it in four months but I still didn't know how to apply the knowledge to practical solutions.

After a while, I veered away from coding activities and life went on until I had a tech business idea that made realized I couldn't really do anything to make it a reality with acquiring skills.

The realization shifted my mental paradigm about tech and I was able to embrace it fully. With YouTube and other online resources, I was able to learn basic HTML and CSS & some simple parts of JavaScript. Even though I feel what I know is inadequate, I still appreciated the level of growth I have gathered along my journey into the tech ecosystem.

The plot reached a climax when a friend of mine informed me about the TxE Tech Summit which was recently held in Enugu State. Hurriedly, I did the registration and transported myself to the venue on the day of the summit, beyond all odds.

The speakers spoke directly to me that day, and something within me was reawakened. I went back home with a different energy. I made sure I repaired my faulty laptop the same weekend and started coding with the little knowledge I have. The rest is history today.

Why did I transition into Tech? The main motivation behind my transitioning into Tech is the fact that I couldn't do anything about my business startup idea because my tech skills were inadequate. A secondary reason is the plethora of opportunities that abound in the tech space. I'm pretty confident that I can make a decent living as tech practitioner while scaling my startup idea in the background.

But, most importantly, I decided to dive into tech full time because computers are one of the elements I am most passionate about. Building a career around ICT and computers, definitely, go a long way in quenching my insatiable sense of purpose.

Yes! Tech is the future of civilization.